Movie: Interstellar – Best of the Year?

“We’ve always defined ourselves by the ability to overcome the impossible. And we count these moments. These moments when we dare to aim higher, to break barriers, to reach for the stars, to make the unknown known. We count these moments as our proudest achievements. But we lost all that. Or perhaps we’ve just forgotten that we are still pioneers. And we’ve barely begun. And that our greatest accomplishments cannot be behind us, because our destiny lies above us.”
– Cooper, Interstellar

interstellar 03

Is Christopher Nolan’s latest film Interstellar the best film of the year? Maybe, maybe not. I’m not sure yet. But it just might be my personal favorite.

Interstellar is a space odyssey grounded firmly on an earth in the not too distant future.
“We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt.”
– Cooper

There’ve been reviews with comparisons to Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey and I think in part, rightly so. With visual nods to the Kubrick classic, there are several times when watching Interstellar that you can’t help but think about 2001. But here I speak the unmentionable and dare say that I believe Interstellar just might hold up better over time. Where 2001 now has a hard time keeping one’s attention because of a slower pace that was much more acceptable in 1968, Interstellar is a beautifully paced story with everything one could want.

With a story bigger than ourselves, it’s visually stunning, exciting, surprising, and has wonderful bits of humor.

It’s got hero/explorers, a father and daughter whose love is tested “across time,” and a mad scientist (well…not really, but yeah, sort of).

Maybe it was just good timing that I recently finished Walter Isaacson’s biography on Albert Einstein. The concepts Einstein is most famous for, Space Time and the General Theory of Relativity, are an important part of the main storyline. The scientific ideas the movie put forth concerning space travel and space time, well, I pretty much accepted it at face value. I didn’t really see it as science fiction at all.

Interstellar 04

”Love is the one thing we’re capable of perceiving that transcends time and space.”
– Amelia Brand

And having one child, a daughter, who I love more than I could ever express, I was captivated by the relationship story between Cooper (Matthew McConaughey’s character) and his daughter Murph (played by Mackenzie Foy and Jessica Chastain). Then throw in the rest of the fantastic cast that includes Michael Caine, Anne Hathaway, John Lithgow and more – well, it’s just a wonderful film.

Interstellar is a picture that demands to be seen on the big screen. So, if you haven’t seen it yet, do not let the new December films crowd it out of your local theater before you go out and see it. Matthew McConaughey’s character Cooper is a movie hero, an explorer, a father figure – one not to be missed.

“We’ll find a way; we always have.”
– Cooper

This movie review is part of a series of monthly posts. The movies I choose each month are films that I feel a personal connection with, to the story or characters. They may be films you might not have seen, classic’s you may have missed or maybe some I think are worth a second look. From “Classic Hollywood” black and white to the latest hits – Action/Adventure and Comedy to Coming of Age and Buddy Films.

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie: Interstellar – Best of the Year?

  1. Good review. I am going to see this folm.

  2. mitchteemley says:

    Really enjoyed Interstellar, and still about it from time to time.

Leave a comment