What was your Greatest Childhood Inspiration?

My blog for the most part has been about sharing that in life, as I see it, we never stop growing and learning. Themes such as mentors, inspiration, self-discovery, family and friendship are the most common, whether I happen to discuss books, films or experiences in general.

Here’s a post of mine from two years ago about inspiration from my childhood.

VocareMentor.com

“Why do we have to grow up? I know more adults who have the children’s approach to life. They’re people who don’t give a hang what the Joneses do. You see them at Disneyland every time you go there. They are not afraid to be delighted with simple pleasures, and they have a degree of contentment with what life has brought – sometimes it isn’t much, either.”
– Walt Disney

As a child I loved T.V. shows like Mission Impossible and The Man from U.N.C.L.E.
I found inspiration everywhere in pop culture. I wanted to be in a band but couldn’t play an instrument and my singing voice has never been something anybody would really want to be subjected to.

I also liked the comic book characters Batman, Superman, Thor and Green Lantern. Other T.V. characters that inspired me came from the Tarzan movies and those Italian Hercules movies dubbed…

View original post 410 more words

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What was your Greatest Childhood Inspiration?

  1. I enjoyed this post, thanks for the memories.When I was a kid I was inspired by Erector Sets. I learned to study the black & white, pen & ink drawings and then recreate them on the kitchen table with the various steel pieces. Along the way I learned dexterity and a love for working with my hands. It paid off for 46 years as an electrician.
    Ω

  2. This was fun! Thank you, I enjoyed reading and all the memories you brought back. When I was a kid I read a lot of old fairytales, classic novels, and Nancy Drews. I really enjoyed old fashioned writing, still do. Also, dime store detective novels set in the 40’s, the cheesier the better. 🙂

  3. I agree with you that we never stop growing. Thank you for the like of my post. I should write something about my childhood heros also. For the growing and learning part, this is what I share:

    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/i-am-astonished-with-delight/

  4. Thank you for the like of my above post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

