Movie: The Intern, or is it . . . The Mentor?

The movie The Intern could easily be renamed The Mentor.

I had read several good things about The Intern, directed by Nancy Meyers and starring Robert De Niro and Anne Hathaway. But what interested me the most was the mentoring relationship De Niro’s character, Ben, has with several people in the movie along with Jules, played by Anne Hathaway.

The Intern 0001

Ben brings with him a new way of understanding and seeing things which is really an old way of seeing. He’s of a different generation – he’s a different breed.

This difference, and the influence Ben has on a few of the young guys is evident in one scene. The guys are astonished by Ben’s habits – (and I paraphrase)
“You mean you shave every day!?! Even on the weekends? Even if you know you aren’t going to see anyone you know?”

The Intern 03

One Author, Blogger and Leadership Guru’s that I follow online is Michael Hyatt. He had a great post about the the film titled “What Robert De Niro Taught Me About Leadership”. I had thought about posting something about The Intern earlier, but as often happens, I got sidetracked. Then I saw Hyatt’s post. He makes some excellent points about mentors and mentees. I think the overall emphasis of Hyatt’s post is about “attitude.” He says a mentor should be authentic, curious, observant, reassuring and generous. Hyatt list’s these as “traits of highly effective mentors.”

A Mentor and Mentee can have a very special relationship – It’s the Jedi and the Padawan, the Master and the Apprentice, the Teacher and the Student.

The mentors that I’ve had in my life have had a huge impact on me. Having mentors and being a mentor both, I feel, are vital. In a way it’s become old-fashioned. And sadly too few people it seems, think about or feel the need for a mentor, and just as crucial, forgo being a mentor.

To put it simply, I think a mentor’s roll is to provide wisdom from experience, and to encourage and inspire.

The Intern 0002

Although I always try to stay open to opportunities, at the moment I’m not mentoring any specific person. Still, I’m aware of many people that need direction, inspiration and encouragement. I believe they’ve been placed in different areas of my life so I might play the part of a mentor, at least in some small way.

The Intern is still playing in many theaters so do try to catch it if you can. Or, it’s a movie that’s just fine to see on DVD or Netflix. The film also has one of the funniest scenes I’ve seen at the movies all year. So as not to give anything away, I’ll just say that it has to do with Jules’ need for help to ‘correct an error’ involving her mother’s computer.

Nowadays it just seems like there are so many negative influences everywhere we look. It’s a little too easy to ‘mess things up.’ Positive influences are lacking. I don’t believe human beings are designed to go it alone. We need each-other.

Maybe the movie The Intern will help to increase an interest in mentoring relationships. And could there be a sequel, The Mentor ? I would be one of the first in line to see it.

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Mentors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Movie: The Intern, or is it . . . The Mentor?

  1. mitchteemley says:

    Just added this to my Netflix queue. I do like Nancy Meyers’s films. Thanks for the heads-up!

  2. Great review. I watched this movie with my eighteen year old daughter last night and we both loved it. I agree with you about the ‘mother’s computer’ scene, very funny.

  3. sjhigbee says:

    I haven’t yet managed to see this one yet, it looks like something I’d enjoy, though:). Thank you for a great review.

  4. Putting it on my list. So well said: “To put it simply, I think a mentor’s roll is to provide wisdom from experience, and to encourage and inspire.”

  5. The intern is one of those films I would like to check out.

Leave a Reply

