Movies: Fun Halloween Films – Don’t be Scared

If you’re like me and not particularly fond of the Horror/Slasher/Creep-You-Out type of movies, then you might enjoy the following list for your Halloween Weekend movie viewing pleasure.

One Director who is celebrated for his association with the ‘ghastly’ and ‘ghostly’ and just plain weird, but still delightfully fun, would be Tim Burton. He’s got a whole bunch of films that fit a Halloween movie lineup.

Tim Burton 01

Here’s a list of Burton films, all excellent choices this weekend:

Frankenweenie (2012) – Rated PG – Burton’s most recent stop-motion animated movie, a tribute to the classic Frankenstein, it’s perfect for all ages.

Dark Shadows (2012) – Rated PG-13 – I really enjoyed this Burton version of the old gothic vampire soap opera.

Corpse Bride (2005) – Rated PG – Visually amazing – I don’t know why this stop-motion animated film isn’t on more lists for Halloween viewing. It’s a perfect match with the holiday.

Ed Wood (1994) – Rated R – Such an odd film made by an odd director about possibly the ‘oddest’ director of all. And Martin Landau’s portrayal of Bela Lugosi is terrific!

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) – Rated PG – This one works as a Halloween or Christmas movie, take your pick. Either way, the style and beauty of this stop-motion film is just wonderful.

Edward Scissorhands (1990) – Rated PG-13 – A fine movie and what makes it work for Halloween is a small but wonderful performance by Vincent Price.

Beetlejuice (1988) – Rated PG – Michael Keaton is over-the-top bizarre in this crazy comedy. A bit dated but still very funny.

I haven’t seen Sleepy Hollow (1999) or Sweeney Todd (2007) – both of them Rated R, so I can’t really say anything about them but I would assume they would also fit the bill for Halloween.

Tim Burton 001

Weekends are always busy for me, especially a holiday weekend, but if I’m able to fit in one (or two) movies I think I’ll go with Corpse Bride and/or Ed Wood. It’s been a while since I’ve seen either of these and they are polar opposites in the ‘Wild Tim Burton World.’ But any of the films listed above would be a fine way to pay tribute to the Holiday.

Bonus: If you’re interested in an oldie but goodie I would suggest 1944’s Arsenic and Old Lace. Last year I blogged about it (take a look here). Cary Grant is hilarious in this weirdly spooky screwball comedy. I’m surprised at how many people I’ve talked to who haven’t seen it. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movies: Fun Halloween Films – Don’t be Scared

  1. Excellent choices! I’ve seen them all. .) But there’s one I haven’t seen and I will try to watch: Arsenic and Old Lace, I am curious! Thanks!
    Halloween greetings!

  2. leannenz says:

    My day off tomorrow so Arsenic and Old Lace it is! Thanks for popping by to my new Photo blog much appreciated. I am going to explore your blog for more recommondations as the holidays approach and I will have time to kick back!

  3. sjhigbee says:

    What a smashing selection for those of us a tad allergic to too much gore! Many thanks for this really useful article:).

Leave a Reply

