Sharing the Adventure with Her

“Oh, no. No, things are the way you think I made them. I didn’t make them that way at all. Things are just the same as they always were, only, you’re the same as you were, too, so I guess things will never be the same again.”
– Lucy Warriner, in the film, The Awful Truth (1937) –
I sometimes have a hard time understanding women…Correction…I almost always have a hard time understanding women. That absolutely applies to me and my bride. And I wouldn’t have it any other way…Well, sort of…Anyway – Because it was two years ago this week that I started this blog, I decided to return to another post from that first couple of months. It’s about male/female relationships. Enjoy! –

VocareMentor.com

~ Grandpa: [voiceover] Nothing gave Buttercup as much pleasure as ordering Westley around.
~ Buttercup: Farm boy, polish my horse’s saddle. I want to see my face shining in it by morning.
~ Westley: As you wish.
~ Grandpa: [voiceover] “As you wish” was all he ever said to her.
~ Buttercup: Farm boy, fill these with water – please.
~ Westley: As you wish.
~ Grandpa: [voiceover] That day, she was amazed to discover that when he was saying “As you wish”, what he meant was, “I love you.” And even more amazing was the day she realized she truly loved him back.

– The Princess Bride

Princess01

I was lucky to find a lasting love early in life. Then comes learning what’s involved, such as anniversaries. The only real difficulty with my Wedding Anniversary is that it comes smack-in-the-middle of my wife’s birthday (near Thanksgiving) and Christmas. That’s a…

View original post 497 more words

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sharing the Adventure with Her

  1. jesh stg says:

    There are a lot of “thoughts” on your blog! For right now – thanks for visiting my blog!

    • VocareMentor says:

      I enjoyed your blog – the images and the short narratives that go with them are very nice. Maybe I should be taking more pictures to post along with my “thoughts.” – Thanks!

  2. Congratulations on two years of blogging!
    Great choice for anniversary post.

Leave a Reply

