Robin Hood’s birthday, really?!? – Really!

Did you know that June 20th is Robin Hood’s birthday?

Well, not exactly. It’s actually Errol Flynn’s birthday. But he was Robin Hood, right?

RH 3

The first time I saw Errol Flynn was while watching Saturday morning cartoons as a kid. It was a Bugs Bunny cartoon titled “Rabbit Hood.” Remember that one?

The whole time Bugs is being chased around by the Sheriff of Nottingham. Then once in a while a goofy “Little John” shows up to announce,
“Don’t you worry,
Never fear,
Robin Hood will soon be here!”

But he doesn’t appear.

The sheriff continues to chase Bugs who, as usual, is able to inject all kinds of shenanigans.
Then near the end of the cartoon again Little John introduces Robin Hood, and Bugs let’s him have it! He lays into Little John making fun of his announcing a Robin Hood who never shows up. And then of course he does show up.

And it’s the “real” Robin Hood.

Warner Bros. cartoons splice in the short, live action “Welcome to Sherwood” scene from the great 1938 film The Adventures of Robin Hood.

RH 01

I don’t know when I first saw the film. Maybe a few years later, a Saturday afternoon adventure movie on TV. By then I had probably seen Rabbit Hood several times. That scene of Errol Flynn, was seared into my brain – that was the real Robin Hood.

What a thrill to see the movie, follow the adventures, the story of Robin Hood. The confident hero, with tremendous skills in archery and sword fighting. To this day The Adventures of Robin Hood is one of my favorite movies.

All that to say – I’ve been putting together a list of my top 25 favorite films which I’ll get to in my next post. It’s a given that The Adventures of Robin Hood will be on that list – a timeless classic that’s just as much fun as when it first appeared in theaters over 75 years ago.

Till next time – “Th-th-th-that’s all folks!”

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Robin Hood’s birthday, really?!? – Really!

  1. Pingback: Announcing the ‘ONE’ OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE CARTOONS BLOGATHON! |

  2. Pingback: The ‘ONE’ OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE CARTOONS BLOGATHON is here! |

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this one! How is that possible? Happily, I see it’s online and will be checking it out. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Day 1 Recap of ‘ONE’ OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE CARTOONS BLOGATHON |

Leave a Reply

