Best Romantic Comedies to Watch over Valentine’s Day Weekend – Part 2

“That day, she was amazed to discover that when he was saying ‘As you wish,’ what he meant was, ‘I love you.’ And even more amazing was the day she realized she truly loved him back.”
– Grandpa, The Princess Bride (voiceover)

Last year I put together a top 10 films list of Romantic Comedies for Valentine’s Day weekend. I’ve given it a bit more thought and came up with a few more that should be on the list.

Here are a couple more from recent years as well as older classics:

The Princess Bride – 1987 (PG) – Don’t know how I left this off my list last year. Technically, I don’t really know if you’d call it a romantic comedy, but romance is at the heart of the story, and it’s comedy all the way through along with great fun and adventure.

The Awful Truth – 1937 (Not Rated) – The comedy that puts the screwball into ‘screwball comedy.’ Cary Grant and Irene Dunne are hilarious in this wonderful classic film.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World – 2010 (PG-13) – Just saw this for the first time about 6 months ago. Excellent film. It’s got a terrifically stylized graphic novel look and a funny, quirky love story. It’s directed by Edgar Wright, who also directed one of my faves from last year’s list, Shaun of the Dead.

Ninotchka – 1939 (Not Rated) – Another classic comedy with Greta Garbo and Melvyn Douglas. Promoted in 1939 with the tag line ‘Garbo Laughs.’ The great dramatic actress proved she could do comedy with the best of them.

Midnight in Paris – 2011 (PG-13) – Owen Wilson and Marion Cotillard are wonderful in another Romantic Comedy Fantasy that takes place in present day Paris, and magically, after midnight, in 1920s Paris. One of the best from Woody Allen in the last few years.

Favorites Part 2

Again, for more recommendations for Valentine’s Day viewing, check out my list from last year.

Laughter helps to smooth over the rough spots in a relationship. I’m glad there are so many good films to choose from to watch with my wife. She looks for the romance and I look foreword to the comedy – So everybody’s happy!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

“Sonny, true love is the greatest thing, in the world-except for a nice MLT – mutton, lettuce and tomato sandwich, where the mutton is nice and lean and the tomato is ripe.”
– Miracle Max, The Princess Bride

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

