It’s-Time-For-Dodger-Baseball…Finally

It’s been an exasperating year for many Dodger baseball fans in Los Angeles. Not so much for how the team has been playing – with fan expectations high, the team has done well enough.

The frustration is because 70% of the Los Angeles fan base has been locked out all season long from seeing their team play on TV. The cable channel (Time-Warner) that has the broadcast rights to the team could not, or would not work out broadcast deals with other L.A. providers.

Dodgers 1

Finally a deal was worked out to broadcast the last 6 games of the season (airing this week) on a local station (KDOC) carried by all providers.

But what seems so strange to me is, because of all that drama, and as the playoffs are almost upon us, this is the first week that I got to experience one of the things I most look forward to every season.

Many a Dodger fan gets a lump in his throat and feels a tear come to his eye when he hears those words for the first time each season, “It’s-Time-For-Dodger-Baseball,” spoken by none other than Hall of Fame broadcaster Vin Scully.

In his 65th year (can you fathom that?!?) of broadcasting Dodger games, 86 year young Vin Scully is without a doubt, the most popular ‘Dodger.’ Sure, we love our team and the many great players, but take a poll, not just Dodger fans, not just baseball fans, but poll any and everyone involved in sports and you’ll find Vin Scully at the top of the list of most loved and respected men in all of sports.

Vin Scully has such a smooth and inspiring voice. And because of his keen sense of what’s necessary and his longevity with the game, he’s a living history book that adds immensely to the sport. To that you include his good humor, kindness and humility, and you have the makings of a true national treasure, and my hero.

I have a rule that when I put someone on a pedestal, set them up as a role model, a hero, they usually have to be dead a few years so that they don’t have a chance to screw up their lives. I don’t expect people to be saints, but as we’ve seen, far too many role models have just done really stupid things, or worse, hurt a lot of people.

Dodgers 2

I have a feeling that Vin Scully will not disappoint. He’s made of something different, from a bygone area.

One thing softens the blow that it’s taken so long to hear those wonderful words that mean so much to me. Earlier in the season, Scully announced that he would be back next year, God willing, to broadcast another season. This is a selfish prayer but – “Please God, give us another year of Vin Scully.”

“Hi, everybody, and a very pleasant good (afternoon/evening) to you, wherever you may be.”
– Vin Scully.”

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Heroes, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

