What is it about Batman?…(not that Batman)

As a kid, Batman was a favorite superhero. When Tim Burton came out with his take on the comic book character, I was impressed. And Christopher Nolan’s vision of The Batman played so well by Christian Bale was a worthy updating of the iconic figure.

It will probably seem silly to you, but I still have this soft spot for the campy 1960’s TV version of Batman.

batman 01

Recently, my wife and I were watching an old movie. It was probably on the Turner Classic Movie channel. I happen to pick it out because I thought my wife would enjoy it. It’s unlikely I would have ever watched it if not for the fact that I try to keep an eye out for something she would like. Old classics are films I’ve been trying to catch up on, but you really couldn’t define this as a movie “not to be missed.”

The film was the 1959 film It Started With a Kiss starring Glenn Ford and Debbie Reynolds. But to my surprise, the movie also “starred” a 1955 Lincoln Futura concept car that became the basis on which the 1966 Batmobile was created. The car really was an important character in the film, and I immediately recognized the resemblance to the TV Batmobile. Later I did some internet searching and quickly found the history of the car.

ISWAK 01

It’s was wonderful to add a bit of “back-story” to that famed character, the Batmobile.

The show’s ZAP and POW graphics that flashed on the screen when Batman was in a fight were so, as the saying went in the 60’s, “Far-Out!” – Batman was a huge hit.

Batman POW

Sure, it was silly and had ridiculous dialogue, but no one can forget the show ending narration, “Tune in tomorrow – same Bat-time, same Bat-channel.”

Batman was so popular that big name celebrities would battle to be on the show. It had a few pretty well know actors playing villains that included Burgess Meredith (the Penguin) and Cesar Romero (the Joker). And cameos included Sammy Davis Jr., Edward G Robinson, Dick Clark and Jerry Lewis.

As a kid, I don’t know how much Adam West playing Batman really impressed me as a hero, but there was something about the show that stuck with me. Was it the Batman theme, Da da da da da da da da BATMAN!!!! ? Was it the POP colors during a fight, WHAMM!! – POW! – KRUNCH!!! ? Or maybe it was the car, the Batmobile.

One skill I’ve never picked up is working on cars, repairing the engines. But it’s a thrill when I see certain cars cruising down the road – seeing a work of art on wheels; a red 55’ Ford Thunderbird, a silver Aston Martin (a la James Bond), or maybe a 66 Ford Mustang.

Batmobile

What was it about that campy TV show?…Yep – It was the car – the Batmobile!

Batman: “Come on, Robin, to the Bat Cave! There’s not a moment to lose!”

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Growing Up, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is it about Batman?…(not that Batman)

  1. Relax says:

    I loved tv’s campy ol’ Batman show — I’ve actually never watched any other version! Same for the bad-props Dr. Who show! Both seemed like comic books come to life!

  2. VocareMentor says:

    For me, the first real comic book come to life was Superman (1978) with Christopher Reeve. In spite of the absurd rumors over Marlon Brando’s demands, the film was the first Superhero Origin movie that truly captured the spirit of a comic book character.

Leave a Reply

