Taking a Blog Break to Be Happy

“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”
– Audrey Hepburn –

My Blog will return next time to its regularly scheduled programming, but I interrupt it at this time for a bit of a detour…
…Sorry, but I have to admit that I’ve joined those joyful fan’s of Pharrell’s infectious song “Happy.” It’s a catchy tune with a positive attitude, and we don’t get much of that in popular music now days.

Minion 02

The song is one of many parts that made the animated movie Despicable Me 2 a big hit. Though, the true stars of the film, as I see it, are the little creatures, the Minions.

I taught my daughter as she grew up that we never have to stop going to animated films because animation is an art form.

And – they’re just plain fun.

It’s really, really important not to take yourself too seriously all the time. Yes, I’m way past the point of having become a ‘grown-up,’ but I’ve never lost my love of animation. Well done family entertainment like classic Disney, Looney Toons, Pixar and others are a joy to watch.

And I really like the minion characters from the Despicable Me movies.

Paper Mache Minion character in movie theater lobby

Paper Mache Minion character in movie theater lobby

Those Minions bring a smile to my face. Happiness and laughter are good for the soul and body. There’s healing in laughter and smiles are contagious. It’s not only good for you but for everyone around you.

In his book, A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens said, “There is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good humor.” They make the world a little better place to be. And making the world a better place is very worthy goal indeed!

Minion 03

There are quotes and slogans that help me center on goals and other things that are important. One very important thing is happiness – and I’m going to remember to take action with ‘Triple L.’ – That means, I need to ‘Lighten up,’ Laugh, and Look for the fun in my daily activities.

“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.”
– E.E. Cummings

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking a Blog Break to Be Happy

  1. Mike Osorio says:

    Gotta love anything that combines the Minions with Pharrell’s Happy…. 🙂

  2. MLou says:

    Enjoyed the song….Love the Minions…True….you can’t get enough HAPPY!

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog and for liking one of my posts. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

Leave a Reply

