“I am Awesome!” – And so are YOU!

“For I maintain a level of awesomnity in everything I do
So my awesomation is not speculation, but irrefutable truth
In fact, the Census Bureau just released a report that 2
out of every 3 people are awesome / And if that’s true
Then out of you, and you, and I
The question we must now ask ourselves is:
Which of you two is the one who sucks? Because
I am AWESOOOOME!”

– Sekou Andrews, National Poetry Slam champion

My daughter posted this video on her husbands Facebook page earlier today. Poetry is not something I get very excited about but this video by Sekou Andrews is excellent – It’s funny, it’s touching, and it’s inspiring. If nothing else, at least check out the first 2 minutes, and I think you’ll finish the rest.

Mr. Andrews is a “National Poetry Slam champion.” I never hard of that before, have you? The National Poetry Slam is a team performance poetry event. Before today I had never heard of this poetry event or of Sekou Andrews.

Andrews bounces back and forth with an infectious energy.
His take on smiling:
“That’s why I never smile for no reason
It’s a concept I don’t believe in
You aint never without a reason
To show off your teeth a bit
spread out your cheeks a bit
Let your gums breathe a bit
If you can learn to reach deep for it
You can take yourself a piece of bliss
And make yourself a feast of it”

The video is entertaining and encouraging. If you want to read his poem as you are watching the video, you will find it here at Sekou Andrews’ website.

It’s worth repeated viewings. If fact, this week I think I’ll add it to my “Supplementary” page.

Wow, I never knew poetry could be this fun.

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

