Guys – Things you should do different

Hey guys, take note! – When it comes to relationships with women, we can be a little dense, right? After quite a few years of marriage, I should know better – but far too many times I’ve made the mistake of taking my wife for granted.

The Notebook - Young couple

The Notebook – Young couple

Its good when I find something that gets me thinking (and hopefully acting) in a positive way in our relationship. I don’t want to ever stop making an effort to learn and grow.

There was a post by Gerald Rogers, a motivational speaker who got divorced after 15 years of marriage. Admitting the mistakes he made, Rogers listed some advice that he wishes he had had, and followed, earlier in his marriage. Apparently Rogers’ list went viral a few months ago. Here’s a link to where I found it.

There’s a lot of good stuff on the list. Here’s a few of his points:

– Never stop courting
– Fall in love over and over and over again
– Always see the best
– It’s not your job to change or fix her
– Take full accountability
– Be silly
– Never stop growing together
– Forgive immediately

There’s more – and Rogers gives a short summary with each point. Speaking about ‘Always see the Best,’ he says, “What you focus on will expand. If you focus on what bugs you, all you will see is reasons to be bugged. If you focus on what you love, you can’t help but be consumed by love.”

Benjamin Franklin said, “Life’s Tragedy is that we get old to soon and wise too late.”

I’m working on the ‘getting wise’ now. Whether or not you have a lady in your life at the moment, I hope you find it valuable.

The Notebook - Elderly couple

The Notebook – Elderly couple

I’ll leave you with something I saw on ‘Adopting James’ blog a few months ago. It’s from Thornton Wilder’s play Our Town, the final act.

The young, bride Emily died and she’s ‘observing’ a day from earlier in her life.
Emily – “I can’t. I can’t go on. It goes so fast. We don’t have time to look at one another.”
She breaks down sobbing…
“I didn’t realize. So all that was going on and we never noticed. Take me back – up the hill – to my grave. But first: Wait! One more look. Good-by, Good-by, world. Good-by, Grover’s Corners… Mama and Papa. Good-by to the clocks ticking… and Mama’s sunflowers. And food and coffee. And new-ironed dresses and hot baths… and sleeping and waking up. Oh, earth, you’re too wonderful for anybody to realize you.”
She looks toward the stage manager and asks abruptly, through her tears:
“Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it? – every, every minute?”
Stage Manager – “No”

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Male/Female and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

