All Time favorite Films – Honorable Mentions? Too many to choose

As a final acknowledgment of my All Time favorite Films posts, I thought I would go over a list of what might be Honorable Mentions to the list.

Years ago, when I first put together my top ten films, it wasn’t all that hard to do. But I’ve tried several times to do a top 25 list and I find that nearly impossible. I have probably 50 films fighting to get on that list. So in an attempt to make an Honorable Mentions list – I’ll recap with:

My Top 10 – Personal All Time Favorite Films:

1 – It’s A Wonderful Life
2 – LOTR: Fellowship of the Ring
3 – When Harry Met Sally
4 – Star Wars
5 – Fiddler on the Roof
6 – Toy Story 1 & 2
7 – Rear Window
8 – Raiders of the Lost Ark
9 – The Princess Bride
10 – Saving Private Ryan

Although I’m unable to decide on a ranking, there are several films that for me, would most definitely be part of a Personal top 25 Favorites. So several Honorable Mentions to my Top 10 would include:

jaws1

The original – Die Hard (1988)
The first – Jaws (1975) – forget the sequels
The Matrix (1999) – first in the series, and as usual for me, by far the best
Groundhog Day (1993) – one of the very best comedies ever made

Then I start to get a little frustrated when trying to keep to a Top 25 list – because next I would want to add the sequels to Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983). And I can’t decide which of the Matt Damon Bourne movies I like best. The Bourne Identity (2002), The Bourne Supremacy (2004) and The Bourne Ultimatum (2007) are all great!

The_Bourne_Ultimatum_2007_14_1024x768

So those films alone take up five slots in a Top 25 list. Just to remind you, if you look at my Top 10 list, as I explained in an earlier post, it’s actually a ‘Top 11.’ Yeah, I cheated a bit to include Toy Story & Toy Story 2 as one film. And I just can’t find a way to properly add the other Star Wars and all three Bourne movies without taking up too many openings in the list.

Other top favorites include:

the_adventures_of_robin_hood_17

Errol Flynn’s The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)
The Rookie (2002)
The Jungle Book (1967)
Secondhand Lions (2003)
Jurassic Park (1993)

And my first movie crush, Hayley Mills in the original The Parent Trap (1961), which I first saw when Disney issued a re-release.

What’s more, how can I fill out a top 25 list without including one or two more from the great director Alfred Hitchcock? I would struggle trying to decide which to include; North by Northwest (1959), The Birds (1963), Psycho (1960), Vertigo (1958) and Strangers on a Train (1951).

Then I look and see these movies deservedly trying to crowd there way onto the list:

chl01

Lincoln (2012)
Cool Hand Luke (1967)
You’ve Got Mail (1998)
True Grit
with Jeff Bridges from 2010.
Unbreakable (2000) – I like it just a little bit better than The Sixth Sense (1999) which also could be on the list.
And two more animated films, both directed by Brad Bird:
The Iron Giant (1999)
The Incredibles (2004)

And there are more, but this post is already too long.

As has happened before, I give up on making a Top 25 Personal Favorites. Just too many worthy movies that I feel such great affection for. They cast a spell. As Francis Ford Coppola once said, “I think cinema, movies, and magic have always been closely associated. The very earliest people who made film were magicians.”

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All Time favorite Films – Honorable Mentions? Too many to choose

  1. Relax says:

    How about “The Sting”? I like your Top 10, but believe it or not, I’ve never seen all of “The Princess Bride.” People tell me it is unAmerican, maybe even illegal, to not have seen it at least once!

    • VocareMentor says:

      I haven’t seen The Sting for quite a while. Maybe it’s time to watch it again. As for The Princess Bride, for me, I never get tired of it. It’s just a lot of fun.

      • Relax says:

        We never know what to rent for movies — you’ve given me some great ideas! I’ll make “The Princess Bride” one of our choices!

      • VocareMentor says:

        I hope you enjoy it. – I like to check out lists of people’s favorite movies to get ideas – movies I’ve forgotten about or ones I’ve never heard of.

Leave a Reply

