Top 10 All Time Favorite Movies Ever – Part 4

Just about all the movies I really like embrace themes that include heroes, adventure, mentors, courage, responsibility, friendship, family and relationships between men and women. And I’m a big fan of comedies – laughter is good medicine.

Here’s Part 4 of my Top 10 Favorite Films:
Click here to view Part 1Click here to view Part 2Click here to view Part 3

4 – Star Wars – Rated PG (1977) – Fantasy/Adventure – What’s the official name of this movie now anyway? – Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope – I just call it “Star Wars.” George Lucas, at the top of his game, delivered the perfect story. He really didn’t need to go back and mess with little bits here and there, along with the title change. But, no matter – I still love the film.

I can’t think of anything to say that hasn’t already been said. Star Wars, a film that changed the way a whole generation looks at the movies. Again, here is where the first movie in a series is my favorite. In 1977 the world was first introduced to Luke, Leia, Han Solo, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and the villain Darth Vader.

With the lovable robots, C3PO and R2D2, and its space ships and light sabers, what’s not to like about it. This Fantasy/Adventure holds me in its grasp mostly because of the themes involving inner struggles and self-discovery, courage, mentoring and friendship. It’s the epic hero’s journey – Luke and his desire to follow a quest, to be part of something larger than himself. And along with this truly “wonder”-ful story and great characters, we get the brilliant score by John Williams. The forth film in my Top 10 that has John William again delivering the emotional impact for another terrific film.

3 – When Harry Met Sally – Rated R for subject matter and language (1989) – Romantic/Comedy – My favorite Romantic Comedy used to be Woody Allen’s Annie Hall. Then I found this film. It’s a little less self-absorbed, and for me, I never tire of watching it again and again. I drop When Harry Met Sally in the DVD player every year ‘post’ Christmas but before New Years Eve because both holidays play noteworthy parts in the movie.

I’ve said it before – my wife has a little bit of Sally’s character in her as shown in this scene:

Harry – “There are two kinds of women: high maintenance and low maintenance.”
Sally – “Which one am I?”
Harry – “You’re the worst kind; you’re high maintenance but you think you’re low maintenance.”

(Note to my wife – I Love You just the way you are …. Really, I do!)

You get two great comic couple relationships for the price of one – Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan as the title characters and Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby as their best friends. The insights into male/female relationships continue to ring true and are delivered with such comic delight. The little breaks throughout the movie, featuring elderly couples ‘interviewed’ about how they first met are priceless.

Part 5 – ‘The Top’ of my “Personal Top 10” in my next post.

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

