Top 10 All Time Favorite Movies Ever – Part 2

This posting is “Part 2” of my personal Top 10 All Time “Favorite Films.” Click here to view Part 1.

The movies in my Top 10, as well as most all the movies I really like, embrace themes including heroes, adventure, mentors, courage, responsibility, friendship, family and relationships between men and women – and lot’s of laughter.

So here you are – Part 2 of the Top Ten list- my number 8 and 7 All Time Favorite Films:

8 – Raiders of the Lost Ark – Rated PG (1981) – Action/Adventure – The first film in a series is almost always my favorite, and this is no exception. Bringing together Steven Spielberg (director), John Williams (music) and a story by George Lucas (at the height of his creativity) and Philip Kaufman who went on to direct the film, The Right Stuff – this project was bound to be fantastic!

Beginning deep in the jungles of Peru, the opening scene of Raiders of the Lost Ark (released in 1981), set a standard for Action/Adventure movies to follow. And when John Williams’ Raiders March starts (better known as the Indiana Jones Theme) the movie soars!

I’ve been well aware that my top 10 films contain two films each by two different directors. The first as you may already have noticed (if you read part one of this series), Steven Spielberg directed both Raiders of the Lost Ark and Saving Private Ryan. You’ll see in the days ahead who the other director is.

The enormous contribution the movie soundtrack is to the impact of a film in something I’ve long understood. But there is something I never realized until I started this series. Having two directors with two films each in my top 10 list is, in a way, surpassed by the fact that John Williams has even more involvement in several of the films on my list. I will leave you guessing which films they are till I cover them all.

7 – Rear Window – Not Rated (1954) – Thriller – It’s hard to hit upon a better combination than what you find here; one of Films greatest directors, Alfred Hitchcock, an all-time favorite leading man, Jimmy Stewart, and not only a stunning actress, but one of the most beautiful women to ever walk the face of the earth, Grace Kelly. (I think I better insert here Ms. Kelly is second only to my dazzling wife). Along with a great supporting cast, this Hitchcock film is my personal favorite, although I am a huge fan of most every one of his movies.

And keeping with the theme of the importance of movie soundtracks, I find it funny that my favorite Hitchcock film is one that was NOT scored by the great Hitchcock collaborator Bernard Herrmann. This film has Franz Waxman as contributing to the score along with a mixture of popular music from the 1950’s, some classic music and bits of popular music from earlier in the century.

Everything about the movie is wonderful and I watch it about once a year, whenever the mood hits me. And I’ve been fortunate to see it in revival theaters on the big screen a few times. There is nothing like seeing old classics in a movie theater.

The list continues soon in my next post (although I may take a quick break to make mention of that “all important” holiday, St. Patrick’s Day.

Till then – do you have a top 10 list of your favorites? My list tends to cover a variety of types of films. Would your list vary or come under a particular genre?

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

