Is the Sky the Limit to your Dreams?

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”
– Henry David Thoreau

Assuming you’re like me; you often feel you’re stumbling along, not getting it done. You have dreams that too often get set aside – they seem to fade as the months and years slip by.

You want to be successful. You want to follow those desires that are deep down in your gut.

There is a great deal you want to accomplish this year and in the years ahead. I know that for me, I have so much more I want to do and achieve in whatever time I might have left here on this little green and blue sphere.

About a week ago I saw this video of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic SpaceShip Two flight. Branson’s dream is becoming a reality. The sky in not the limit for his vision – His vision reaches beyond the stars.

So, what I want to ask you is – How big are your dreams? Are they Impossibly Big? When you dream, do you reach for the sky? Do your dreams reach beyond the sky?

Don’t limit yourself. As the actor and martial artist, Bruce Lee said, “If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.”

For you to get back on track, to reach out beyond where you are now and take control of where you’re headed, let me suggest this easy, straightforward idea. Take hold of this simple little suggestion for inspiration.

Focus on these two little words – just seven letters. They are “Dream – Do”
Remember these two words. They sum up how to approach those aspirations.
Dream & Do! Like me, you want to fulfill that calling, that desire deep inside you – your purpose in life.

Dream – Give yourself permission to Dream. Let your imagination go and let your dreams reach beyond the stars. Albert Einstein once said, “I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”

Do – Take steps toward that Dream. You can’t take a second step without taking a first. Take the first step, then a second, and a third. With each step you see things you didn’t see before – New ideas and possibilities. It’s like taking a walk – a little excursion. And you happen to be walking along side a tall fence. You can’t see over the fence, but when you get to the end of the fence, and look around the corner, you get a whole new view of what’s in store for you as you continue this little pleasure trip.

Tunnel into Yosemite Valley via realcheapsports.com

Tunnel into Yosemite Valley via realcheapsports.com

There is a tunnel entrance that leads to Yosemite National Park. You have an idea of how cool the view will be when you come out on the other end of the tunnel. But when you exit the tunnel – the view is spectacular, much more than you envisioned.

YNP 02

As you move forward toward fulfilling your dreams this year – this week – today – take one step at a time.
Dream – Dream Big!
Do! – Take that next step – Today!

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”
– Benjamin Button, Brad Pitt’s character in the movie The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

