The Grinch, Shakespeare and You

“And therefore, Uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that [Christmas] has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it!”
– Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

Grinch 01

From what I can tell, “Tis the Season of Controversy” rather than the Season to be Merry.

Should I say Merry Christmas, Happy Holiday’s or maybe just avoid greeting anybody until after the first of the year. Protests over Nativity scenes, and Christmas carols are banned from school “Winter Concerts” (it’s not even called a Christmas program anymore).

It just seems that there’s a Scrooge or Grinch everywhere you look. Maybe it has to do with the increase in popularity of villains in popular culture. I admit that Heath Ledger was amazing as The Joker. Movie and T.V. bad guys are just so cool and trendy. And a lot of the time you can’t even tell which one’s supposed to be the good guy and which one’s the bad guy.

God forbid…ooops, I mean, Heaven forbid…aaah, no…I guess I just need to ask forgiveness…no, that won’t work either…How about, I regret that it may “offend” somebody when referring to Christmas as “Christmas.”

Still, Christmas is the story, whether or not you believe it, about God becoming man, coming to live among us and show us the way to the Father. It’s about love and peace, and you don’t have to believe in the baby Jesus to celebrate. In fact a whole lot of people don’t believe, but without doubt they like celebrating and sharing in family time, and seeing the smiles on kid’s faces.

It just bother’s me that a few folks are so easily offended and therefore feel the need to spoil it for everyone else. I believe in God and you don’t, fine – we agree to disagree on His existence.

Shakespeare 01

C.S. Lewis said, “If there is a God who created the world and created us, I could no more ‘meet’ Him, than Hamlet could meet Shakespeare. If Hamlet wants to prove there is a Shakespeare, he’s not going to be able to do it in a lab, nor is he going to be able to find Shakespeare by going up into the top of the stage. The only way he will know something about Shakespeare is if Shakespeare writes something about himself into the play.”

To borrow from Linus in A Charlie Brown Christmas, “that’s what Christmas is all about, Charlie Brown.” God has written himself into the play. That is how we know about Him. And that is what Christmas is about.

So, the next time you run into a Grinch – tell him to smile, have a little fun, celebrate. It doesn’t matter if he loves God or not…God loves him. He loves me. And He loves you. – That’s what Christmas is all about. – Merry Christmas!

“I heard the bells on Christmas Day
Their old, familiar carols play,
And wild and sweet
The words repeat
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Believe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

