Late to the Latest Fad

Duck Dynasty10

“Nobody drives us crazy like our own family. They’re odd, they push our buttons; they’re the source of our biggest frustrations; but also our greatest joys. It’s not always gonna run smoothly, and we’re not always gonna agree, but in the end we’re a family first and a business second.”
– Willie Robertson, Duck Dynasty

“No one’s family is normal. Normalcy is a lie invented by advertising agencies to make the rest of us feel inferior.” – Claire LaZebnik

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am often late to the latest fad. That includes the pop culture interest in Duck Dynasty. Having just discovered the A&E show this year in its fourth season, people told me not to give up on it after one viewing. “You have to watch 3 or 4 episodes,” they said, before you get hooked….And they were right. I watched one episode and thought “What?!?” – After the second episode, I said, “well, a couple of those guys are just plain crazy.” Then after watching a third episode, I was addicted.

First and foremost, this is a family. They stick together through good and bad. The men are men and proud of it. A little off the wall sometimes…alright, a lot of the time, but Duck Dynasty is just enjoyable to watch. And the spotlight on a family that celebrates “family” is refreshing. As actor Michael J. Fox, who came into prominence on the 1980’s show Family Ties, has said, “Family is not an important thing. It’s everything.”

I don’t believe men are as quick as women to admit their need for family. As the Robertsons and Duck Dynasty demonstrate, you can be a man and proudly admit, you are a family man and unashamed of it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.” – Desmond Tutu

“The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family.” – Thomas Jefferson

“The bible says to be slow to anger and quick to forgive, which is important to remember especially with my family. We may be a little hesitant at first but one thing we do well is take care of our own. Whether it’s saving Kay from an enormous gator or letting the guys borrow my RV for a road trip, the Robertsons always come through for one another, even if it is as simple as forgiving.”
– Willie Robertson, Duck Dynasty

“The best thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.”
– John Wooden

“…family seems to be at the heart of most great stories.”
– JJ Abrams

“Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.” – George Burns

“Tom,” said Douglas, “just promise me one thing, okay?”
“It’s a promise. What?”
“You may be my brother and maybe I hate you sometimes, but stick around, all right?”
“You mean you’ll let me follow you and the older guys when you go on hikes?”
“Well . . . sure . . . even that. What I mean is, don’t go away, huh? Don’t let any cars run over you or fall of a cliff.”
“I should say not! Whatta you think I am, anyway?”
“‘Cause if worst comes to worst, and both of us are real old–say forty or forty-five some day– we can own a gold mine out West and sit there smoking corn silk and growing bears.”
“Growing beards! Boy!”
“Like I say, you stick around and don’t let nothing happen.”
“You can depend on me,”
said Tom.
“It’s not you I worry about,” said Douglas. “It’s the way God runs the world.”
Tom thought about this for a moment.
“He’s all right, Doug,” said Tom. “He tries.”

– Ray Bradbury, Dandelion Wine

“Home is people. Not a place. If you go back there after the people are gone, then all you can see is what is not there any more.”
– Robin Hobb

“In my family, in being with my wife and my kids. If at any moment of stress or tension or whatever, I could close my eyes and be anywhere, it’d be with them. That’s just never-ending. I just get so much joy from my family.”
– Michael J. Fox on where he most finds happiness

“Families are the compass that guide us. They are the inspiration to reach great heights, and our comfort when we occasionally falter.”
– Brad Henry

“I saw what Andrew did in our family. I saw that he came in and listened and watched and understood who we were, each individual one of us. … And in the end, while he could never make the Ribeira family normal, he gave us peace and pride and identity. Stability. He married Mother and was kind to her. He loved us all. He was always there when we wanted him, and seemed unhurt by it when we didn’t. He was firm with us about expecting civilized behavior, but never indulged his whims at our expense. And I thought: This is so much more important than science. Or politics, either. Or any particular profession or accomplishment or thing you can make. I thought: If I could just make a good family, if I could just learn to be to other children, their whole lives, what Andrew was, coming so late into ours, then that would mean more in the long run, it would be a finer accomplishment than anything I could ever do with my mind or hands.”
– Orson Scott Card, Xenocide

“In every conceivable manner, the family is link to our past, bridge to our future.” – Alex Haley

“No one should be alone in their old age, he thought.”
– Ernest Hemingway, The Old Man and the Sea

“Families are like fudge – mostly sweet with a few nuts.” – Author Unknown

“Trust blood kin – everybody else is suspect.”
– Phil Robertson, Duck Dynasty

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

