Advice on Women….Not Really

HGF05b

“I wish you hadn’t done that, Hildy…Divorce me. Makes a fellow lose all faith in himself…Almost gives him a feeling he wasn’t wanted.”
– Walter Burns, His Girl Friday

“I’m a woman! We don’t say what we WANT! But we reserve the right to get pissed off if we don’t get it. That’s what makes us so fascinating! And not a little bit scary.”
– Lydia, Sliding Doors

As a young man, I found love and marriage at the youthful age of 21. I stumbled along, for the most part content, through the following years with this woman who tolerated me and my male nature. In time we had a female child, which made my lady happy, and I, too, found great delight in this daughter: the small one forever having me wrapped around her finger. In time that young girl of ours has grown and she, too, is married.

This story, like a fairy tale, sounds simple and sweet, and in essence, that pretty much sums up this married life as I have experienced it. But in all these years, there has remained one constant that I would hope by now would be different – I really do not understand women any more that when I began this journey.

Grasping for some insight along the way, I have been hard-pressed to come upon much legitimate data that actually helps a guy figure out women. Now I am aware that Shakespeare possessed a unique insight into the human condition. He seems to have had a very good understanding of women. Regrettably, I don’t understand Shakespeare.

For me, the lyrics from a Van Morrison song “Meaning of Loneliness” pretty much express my understanding of the problem:
How can you ever really know somebody else?
It takes more than a lifetime
Just to get to know yourself

About the only things I am relatively sure of, as Bill Cosby said, are: “The two most important things to the American female are man’s prevention of nuclear war and man’s putting the toilet seat down.”

Nevertheless, my wife, “my Bride,” is still by my side after all these years. She still loves me.

And I don’t understand it.

“I have never studied the art of paying compliments to women. But I must say, that if all that has been said by orators and poets since the creation of the world in praise of women were applied to the women of America, it would not do them justice.”
– Abraham Lincoln

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Male/Female and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

