Who will tell you the truth?

“We are truth-speakers, we men of Gondor. We boast seldom, and then perform, or die in the attempt.” – J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

“The colonists had no library at their disposal; but the engineer was a book which was always at hand, always open at the page which one wanted, a book which answered all their questions, and which they often consulted.”
– Jules Verne, the Mysterious Island

With it being Halloween week, many revisit their favorite Horror movies. My taste skews toward the old classics: Frankenstein, The Invisible Man, and Invasion of the Body Snatchers – all pre-1960 films. Another couple of top choices are not all that recent either, both by Alfred Hitchcock: Psycho and The Birds.

Late last year, FOX Searchlight Pictures released Hitchcock, a film starring Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren, and based on the book Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho by Stephen Rebello.

This actually leads into what I really wanted to mention: an article on leadership by John Baldoni earlier this year on Forbes online, which uses the movie Hitchcock as a springboard to touch on the values of an advisor, a partner, a collaborator.

I just finished reading the biography Alfred Hitchcock: A Life in Darkness and Light by Patrick McGilligan. Both this book and the movie point out the huge contribution Alma Hitchcock made to her husband’s success. Alma’s advice and collaboration contributed greatly to making Hitchcock the legendary director he has become.

The value of a mentor, partner, coach, or collaborator in all areas of one’s life can never be underestimated. If you do not have one or more of these in your life, make finding these people a top priority in the year ahead. And while you are at it, look for someone to whom you might be a mentor or coach; that person might not even be aware of his need. You will both be thankful you did.

And by the way – I’ve found so much excellent information online at Forbes.com on a wide range of subjects. That’s why Forbes is listed on this site as one of my ‘Favorite Links.’

“Coach Graham rode you pretty hard, didn’t he?” he said.
I could barely muster a “yeah.”
“That’s a good thing,” the assistant told me. “When you’re screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore, it means they’ve given up on you.”

― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Collaboration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

