What book are you reading?

“Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.”
– Mark Twain

Reading – reading books – is a pastime I truly enjoy. David McCullough, who is probably my favorite non-fiction author, was talking about John Adams and his 10 year old son as they were traveling by ship to Europe during the revolutionary war. Speaking about John, and specifically about his wife Abigail Adams’ aspirations for their young son, McCullough said that they “wanted the boy to go to see history happening and to see his father in action, and to learn from his father and to experience the associations that she knew he would have with some of the greatest minds of that extraordinary 18th Century once they reached France.”

That is why I read. That is why reading, specifically reading books, not just magazines, newspapers, or perusing favorite internet sites, is so vital. We never stop learning, we never stop growing. And books: whether they are biographies, self help, classics, sci-fi, philosophy, thriller or whatever – be it fiction or non-fiction – convey the experiences, thoughts, and stories of others. It teaches us, expanding our worlds, helping us to grow, making us better people, for ourselves and all those whose lives we touch and influence each day.

“History is a guide to navigation in perilous times. History is who we are and why we are the way we are.” – David McCullough

“The longer I live, the more I read, the more patiently I think, and the more anxiously I inquire, the less I seem to know.” – John Adams

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Knowledge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

