Going Somewhere?

Alice: Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
The Cat: That depends a good deal on where you want to get to
Alice: I don’t much care where.
The Cat: Then it doesn’t much matter which way you go.
Alice: …so long as I get somewhere.
The Cat: Oh, you’re sure to do that, if only you walk long enough.

– Lewis Carroll’s Alice In Wonderland

From the “Library of Congress” website:
The Library of Congress, the largest library in the world, was established in 1800 to meet the research needs of Congress. While that is still our primary mission, we have expanded our services to all Americans and to researchers from around the world. As you will see, during the past 200 years, the Library of Congress has evolved into something “more than a library.”
Through 21 reading rooms and on our Web site, we provide access to the world’s largest collection of manuscripts, photographs, films, maps, sound recordings, drawings, posters and other visual records. Visit us in Washington, D.C., or explore this amazing electronic educational resource online. From presidential papers to comic books, the Library keeps, preserves and makes available a vast record of American culture.
As America’s library, we also serve other public and research libraries in the U.S., and we collaborate with national libraries worldwide. As the world’s largest repository of knowledge and creativity, the Library serves you in many ways: as a protector of rights, as a preserver of collections, and as a vital, living center for learning, performance and discovery.
For more information on the Library of Congress, click through the sections in the pages that follow and read more about the Library. A section of links is provided that will allow you to connect directly to the Library’s award-winning Web site.
http://www.loc.gov/about/more/links.html

King: Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end: then stop.
– Lewis Carroll’s Alice In Wonderland

About VocareMentor

Walk with the wise and become wise - Prov. 13:20 A lot of my blog comes out of the way I grew up. My parents divorced when I was 6 years old and I didn’t see much of my father. I had no understanding of how the lack of his presence in my life affected every choice I made as I grew up. Much of my adult life has been attempting to sort things out and catch up. Thus, what you’ll find on my blog are musings, thoughts, wisdom and ideas from history and pop culture. Themes: mentors, father/son, male/female, self-discovery, courage, stepping up, friendship and more.
This entry was posted in Knowledge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

